Getting a bit carried away…

It’s no secret to my family and close friends that I have a bit of an obsession with bird silhouettes.  If you were at my wedding this summer, it was pretty obvious…

Photos courtesy of Ben Hallissy

Then, of course, there are the ceramic birds we have in our apartment along with several other bird-related items…and now this.  I had been planning to make a pillow for the Stockholm chair in our living room for awhile and I had been admiring these Thomas Paul Silhouette Pillows.  When I started looking for silhouette templates to trace, I stumbled across this bird template on marthastewart.com.

I tried to resist but Alex talked me into using it.  After Alex’s mom had helped me sew a pillow cover out of plain white fabric while we were visiting for New Years, this is what I did:

I printed out the template on an 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper and cut out the bird with my Exacto knife.  I then pinned it to the front side of the pillow and traced the outline with a pencil.  After placing a piece of cardboard inside the pillow cover to keep the paint from bleeding through, I grabbed some brown fabric paint and a brush and went to town.

After I finished painting, I let it dry overnight.  Finally, I placed the pillow insert in the cover, hand sewed the bottom edge, and…

Voile.  Am I the only one obsessed with bird silhouettes these days?

One thought on “Getting a bit carried away…

  1. Hey Lauren, I’ve looked looking at your blog these past few days. It’s great to see what magic you can work with some creativity, a few odds and ends, a and a former bachelor pad :) Proof that you don’t need to spend tons of money to many a cozy home.

    May I ask for your know-how on a subject? I’ve got a ton of necklaces and not much space to store them (and hardly wear many of them since they are stored away in a jewelry box drawer which I can’t readily see). Any thoughts? Creative ways to hang/store? Not a pressing issue, but maybe it you’re looking for something to discuss one day :)

Leave a Reply

