Made with Love

In celebration of the soon-to-arrive Valentine’s Day, a piece of art, made with love.

Awhile ago, I had the idea to create something I would call an “ancestral collage” – a self-portrait comprised of features inherited from my parents and grandparents.

ancestralcollage_final3

Image: Self-Portrait, (c) Lauren G. Chapin

Based on this image of myself from 2 years ago,

111212 New Haircut

This is who I am made of:

family portrait summer 1981

My father’s family (left to right): Pappy (my grandfather) with cousin Allison, Gamma (my grandmother), Uncle Tom, Aunt Linda with cousin Franklin, Dad, Mom

May04&02

My dad (left) with his best friend, Howie (right)

My father’s face.

engagement

My parents

His nose, smile, and chin.

Scan0020

My maternal grandmother, Kay

My grandmother’s eyes and “drip” on the end of her nose.

senior pic

A hint of my mother’s jaw, her cheeks, and her “swan neck.”

Knit together in my mother’s womb, fearfully and wonderfully made.

One thought on “Made with Love

Leave a Reply

